hébergement, Susan's Retreat, gîte touristique, Niagara Falls

Susan's Villa | 5481 5481 Avenue Ontario | Niagara Falls, ON, L2E 3S4 | Canada |
Gîte touristique et suites de vacances | Téléphone: 289-296-9402 I Ouvert toute l'année
Courriel: niag.falls@gmail.com | Langues : anglais, allemand, hongrois et serbo-croate


 
 



Témoignages:
The original letters are here and can be seen - some were written to us, others to websites like VRBO etc. - for privacy reasons the full name and city of origin can not be made public)


From Leticia, USA, July 18,2009
Dear Susan & Edwin,
We wanted to thank you for your hospitality and for welcoming us into your home and to Ontario. We had a very comfortable stay and an enjoyable and relaxing vacation. It was very nice meeting you both and hearing about Germany and hints for visiting Europe. Maybe we will see you one day?
Sincerely
4 signatures


From James and Family, USA, August 10, 09
Edwin & Susan
Thanks for our stay with you. We enjoyed the Falls and all the other things there are to do here. We hope we can return some day to explore some more!
5 signatures


A Guest from Finland wrote: Dec. 29, 2009
Thank you for the pleasant time in Canada.
This Christmas was one to be remembered. Nice apartment and friendly neighbours. We enjoyed and will recommend this place to others too.
With kind regards, Family from Finland
6 signatures


Guests from Germany wrote:
Dear Susan, dear Edwin,
you had been wonderful hosts during our time near the "Falls". Thank you for your help when planning short trips and giving good advice for any activities. The accommodation was really good and the atmosphere in your house was warm and familiar.
Your breakfast is to be recommended highly. Thank you for having been your guests.
All the best to you for the future.
Angelika & Ditmar / Germany (Bremen)


Thanks for your kind hospitality
Mr Edwin and Ms Susan
It was a historical moment for me and my family to live around world's one out of seven wonders. We felt so homely at your villa that my kids and wife still talks about you. They feel sorry for not having a picture with you. Actulually compare to our stay our activities were too many. However, looking forward God willing in near future if we visit there of course your place will be first choice. Also anybody asking me any suggestion to stay at Niagara definitely I will recommend your villa.
Finally Me and my family want to express our heartious gratitude to you nice folks and looking forward to meet you again.Wish you a happy business rest of the year.Take care
Muse Ch
Love is beauty


"Clean, Nice, Great Location, Great for Families" (out of trip advisor)
Date of review: 28 Jul 2010
My family stayed her for the the 4th of July Weekend. We have a huge family, 7 adults and 5 kids. We stayed in the Domino and Pine Suites located on the second floor. It was very clean, the Domino suite had 2 rooms, 2 full size beds and 1 sofa bed and a bathroom and the Pine Suite had 2 rooms, 1 full size bed and 2 sofa beds and also a bathroom. It would of been nice if the Pine Suite had another full size bed instead of a sofa bed, but not a big deal, but both rooms also had a small refridgerator, which was a +. The rooms and the bathrooms were very clean. The second floor also had a terrace and small living room with tv which was nice. I knew what to expect from a b & b so we brought everything (shampoo, soap...etc.) They provided towels which where very rough, next time I would bring my own. They had kitchen downstairs and we had our own refridgerator, so we brought our own food and drinks. We were allowed to cook as long as we didn't disturb the other guests, which was nice because the food in this area was so expensive and nothing great. They don't clean the bathrooms and give you new towels and make you beds, but I didn't expect it, its a b & b, not a hotel. The air conditioner did break down the first 2 days and it was so hot, but they got it fixed the rest of our stay. Great location, everything is walking distance and free parking. Overall, it was a nice stay and would stay her again.

Reviewer ratings for this hotel:
Value 4/5
Rooms 4/5
Location 4/5
Cleanliness 4/5
Service 3/5
Sleep Quality 4/5
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelled with: Family with Young Children
Age group: 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes


VRBO *** Review Information
Property/Unit: 136326 - "Susan's Retreat - Home Away from Home"
Property Location: Canada, Ontario, Niagara Falls
viero@aviousa.com
Date of Arrival: Aug 15, 2010 - Name on Contract : Luigi
Review Rating: 5/5 Review Title: 1049041 - "Worth, very nice apt, great hospitality" "Susan and Edwin are very nice and honest people. Full of great advice, they try to maximize your experience. Apartment very nice and free parking 5 min walking from falls. I'm happy for my stay here!
Thanks Susan & Edwin!"


SubjectRe: rental for 20th for 2 nights
dear edwin and susan
thank you again for your hospitality. can you add following to your review column for me, thanks
anu shah
review:
I would recommend susan's villa esp for families instead of staying in hotels in niagara falls.
both edwin and susan were thoroughly nice though I could not communicate much with susan as she doesn't speak English well.
the place was clean and exactly like edwin had told me over the phone
we rented the 2 bedroom with the bathroom, the 2nd bedroom had single bed with sofa pullout. the single bed was comfortable and the main room was excellent.
still for the reasonable price I think altogether I made a good decision to stay here instead of the hotel. I would not hesitate to stay here in my future trips to niagara falls.
anu shah, ny


You HAVE to stay here!
Reviewed 8 September 2011
If you're looking for a CLEAN, comfortable, safe place to stay close to the falls than this is it. Edwin & Susan are impeccable hosts...informative, friendly, accommodating...I've been home for a week now & miss them! Susan doesn't speak much English but she makes the most incredible breakfasts, make sure you are HUNGRY in the morning as she always has way too much food on the table.

I brought my mom who is 62 & my son who is 12 with me on this vacation and all 3 of us loved the place. It was less than a 10 minute walk to the falls and Clifton Hill. We parked the car when we arrived & didn't get back in it until we drove up to Niagara on the Lake...which I highly recommend...thank you Edwin for telling us about it!

We stayed in the suite that could sleep 5. There were 2 bedrooms; 1 with a queen bed & the other with a twin bed & fold out couch. The room was very tight with fold out couch opened up, but we didn't need it (it was uncomfortable anyway) so we closed it up & there was so much space. The bedrooms & bathroom were all VERY clean which is so important to me. The back deck is a great place for relaxing with a good book it's nice & shady too.

I am excited to return and will definitely reserve a room with the two of them again!
Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Value5/5
Sleep Quality5/5
Cleanliness5/5
Service5/5
Was this review helpful? Yes

Ask Kelly82905 about Susan's Villa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Susan Radic, Manager at Susan's Villa, responded to this review
11 September 2011
Thank you Kelly for the great review.
We miss you too!
Susan and Edwin


PaulaTuck...
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
"Not only a wonderful place to stay but also found wonderful friends"
Reviewed 6 September 2011
Susan and Edwin were amazing hosts and we definitely could not have asked for better accomodations!
We will definitely be returning and we are recommending it to all our friends and family!
Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Value5/5
Sleep Quality5/5
Cleanliness5/5
Service5/5
Was this review helpful? Yes

Ask PaulaTucker about Susan's Villa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Susan Radic, Owner at Susan's Villa, responded to this review
20 September 2011
Thank you very much for the wonderful review.

This is exactly what we want: come as a guest, leave as a friend.
We wish that all our guests leave as friends!
Just super. Thanks again
Susan and Edwin


Igor B
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
"Excelent"
Reviewed 4 September 2011
I have stayed with my Daughter few days at Susan and Edwin and we have had wonderfull time. Excelent localisation, just 10 minutes walk to the Waterfall, nice, clean neighbourhood, silence and peaceful atmosphere. Perfect for short and long stays. Comfortable, clean rooms, internet and amazing breakfast prepraed by Susan personally.
I am kindly recomanding.
Igor and Amelia,Poland
Stayed August 2011, travelled with family Was this review helpful? Yes
Ask Igor B about Susan's Villa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Susan Radic, Manager at Susan's Villa, responded to this review
11 September 2011
Thank you, Igor and Ameliea for this review.
It was a pleasure to have you!

Susan and Edwin


mrsaustin...
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
"Had a great time!"
Reviewed 20 August 2011
If you are looking for some place to stay in Niagara Falls that is convenient to everything as well as comfortable and quiet then Susan's Villa is the place to stay. Rooms are clean and well kept and Edwin and Susan are terrific hosts! I will definitely be staying here again!
Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Value5/5
Sleep Quality5/5
Cleanliness5/5
Service5/5
Was this review helpful? Yes


Ask mrsaustin2010 about Susan's Villa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Susan Radic, Owner at Susan's Villa, responded to this review
20 September 2011
A big thanks to you and J.R,
Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again soon.

Susan and Edwin


kipper246
Saint John, Canada
1 review
"A place to call home"
Reviewed 11 August 2011
When looking for a place to stay on our vacation 1600 KM'S away and we came across Susan's Villa.We decided to call and glad we did. We arrived on time and Edwin came right over to let us in and show us around.
We were staying for 14 days and thought it might be a little much for a Bed and Breakfast and were totally wrong.Everything was perfect for what we were looking for, especially the breakfast which Susan cooked to perfection every day and of course spoiled us(and I may have gained a pound or two).
In the course of our stay we met up with a couple of really good family's from Florida and got along great.They had kids which was great for our 5 year old daughter Katelyn as she had alot of fun playing in the backyard. It is always nice to meet new people and friends.
When we were leaving my daughter gave Susan and Edwin a card which she signed and Edwin gave her a friend to remember them by. I would recommend this as a place for anyone to stay and relax when needed or take a walk to everything that Niagra Falls has to offer which is only 4 or 5 minutes away.
If we came again we would certainly look you up.
All our best
Wayne and family
stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Value5/5
Sleep Quality5/5
Cleanliness5/5
Service5/5
Was this review helpful? Yes

Ask kipper246 about Susan's Villa

Susan Radic, Owner at Susan's Villa, responded to this review
20 September 2011
Thanks a million for this great review.
All of you really became very close to us and we hope to see you again.
Hopefully soon.
Sometimes there are just no words to express the feelings.
All the Best to you!

Susan and Edwin


You HAVE to stay here!
Reviewed 8 September 2011
If you're looking for a CLEAN, comfortable, safe place to stay close to the falls than this is it. Edwin & Susan are impeccable hosts...informative, friendly, accommodating...I've been home for a week now & miss them! Susan doesn't speak much English but she makes the most incredible breakfasts, make sure you are HUNGRY in the morning as she always has way too much food on the table.
I brought my mom who is 62 & my son who is 12 with me on this vacation and all 3 of us loved the place. It was less than a 10 minute walk to the falls and Clifton Hill. We parked the car when we arrived & didn't get back in it until we drove up to Niagara on the Lake...which I highly recommend...thank you Edwin for telling us about it!
We stayed in the suite that could sleep 5. There were 2 bedrooms; 1 with a queen bed & the other with a twin bed & fold out couch. The room was very tight with fold out couch opened up, but we didn't need it (it was uncomfortable anyway) so we closed it up & there was so much space. The bedrooms & bathroom were all VERY clean which is so important to me. The back deck is a great place for relaxing with a good book it's nice & shady too.
I am excited to return and will definitely reserve a room with the two of them again!
Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Sleep Quality5/5
Cleanliness5/5
Service5/5
Was this review helpful? Yes

Ask Kelly82905 about Susan's Villa

Susan Radic, Manager at Susan's Villa, responded to this review
11 September 2011
Thank you Kelly for the great review.
We miss you too!

Susan and Edwin


Great BB. LOCATION,Hospitallity, and did I mention Location.
Reviewed 4 August 2011
This was our first time in Canada and choosing this B&B was the best decision. This one was great, and the hospitality was amazing. We were treated just like family, Edwin and Susan were great in accomidating all of our needs. We started our day with a great breakfast everyday. Edwin was great to talk with. He made us feel at home. We had 6 adults and 5 chidlren. The youngest was 4 We never once felt unconfortable. We spent the mornings on the back porch while the kids played in the yard. The place was very clean all the time. Our flights had us arriving @ 2:00am and departing @1:00 am and Edwin was more than accomidating with our travel plans. This is definitly the place to stay for anyone who goes to Niagra Falls. Everything is "realy" walking distance from the house.
Stayed July 2011, travelled with family 5 out of 5
Value 5/5
Sleep Quality5/5
Cleanliness5/5
Service5/5
Was this review helpful? Yes
Ask jejar5 about Susan's Villa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Susan Radic, Owner at Susan's Villa, responded to this review
20 September 2011
When we get praise -especially Susan for her cooking) from former guests who became friends we feel .... just great and happy.

We hopefully see you again in your home away from home!

Please accept our thanks from our hearts.

Susan and Edwin


jdsduck
1 review
"From now on, this is the ONLY place I will stay in Canada!"
Reviewed 3 August 2011 -5 out of 5
Yep, staying here was the best decision of the entire vacation planning! We stayed 7 nights and would of been happy to stay another 7 :-) The location was priceless. The cleanliness was refreshing. The food was so yummy. But, the hospitality can not be duplicated! WHAT AMAZING HOST Edwin and Susan are. They were so accommodating, including bringing a birthday cake to breakfast to surprise me after they heard family saying it was my birthday. We had 11 people in our party, from 4-year-old to 69-years-old and ALL of us were so happy with the location and accommodations. Won't ever even look into a hotel while visiting Canada...this is my new home away from home for vacation.
Stayed August 2011
Value5/5 "Location5/5 "Rooms5/5 "Cleanliness5/5 "Service5/5
Was this review helpful? Yes
Ask jdsduck about Susan's Villa
can_trave...
Toronto


"Perfect location, great hosts, great value, good enough room" (out of trip advisor)
Date of review: 19 Aug 2010
Stayed here for four nights, in the "Italian" suite. The rooms are on the small side (he has larger rooms upstairs but they were booked already) but adequate. The bathroom is clean and plenty of towels are provided. My three young kids stayed in one room (with a twin bed and a sofa bed) and my husband and I stayed in the room with the queen size. It was tight quarters, but really, it was just for sleeping anyway and we spent our days out, so it was fine. My only complaint about the suite was the TV in the kids' room had several channels that came in blurry, so when the kids wanted to watch cartoons in the early morning while we were eating breakfast and getting ready, they had to go out to the "common" area living room (which is just outside of the suite door, so not a big deal, but other guests might not have liked seeing three kids hanging out there every morning.) I cannot say enough good things about the house, the location especially, and the very friendly hosts. It's literally a five minute walk to the Falls (5 minutes with a three year old's size steps). The house was always quiet, even with a full house on one of the nights, and we never felt like we were sharing a house with a bunch of people. Also, it's nice having a fridge to store leftovers or a carton of milk for morning cereal. If you're looking for spacious, extravagent accomodations with a deluxe bathroom and heart shaped tub, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a GREAT value for a family within steps of Niagara Falls and you, like us, don't find the idea of sharing a typical hotel room with three kids for an entire week a "vacation", then try Susan's Villa. If we make our way up there again in the future, I'll be looking them up again. (Even if I didn't remember enough of my high school German to be able to speak much with Susan.)
Reviewer ratings for this hotel:
Value 5/5
Rooms 3/5
Location 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
Service 5/5
Sleep Quality 5/5
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelled with: Family with Young Children
Age group: 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes


Toronto
1 Beitrag

"WOW - one of the best"

Bewertungsdatum: 13. Feb 2011
The four of us have been staying in the Pine Suite of the Villa for 4 days. The floor is carpeted and the suite has nice and comfy furniture. The fridge in the suite comes very handy. To prepare a lunch or dinner, we were allowed to use the kitchen where we also could store food in the fridge and freezer.

All of us have been very pleased. We have seen many other places but this one has not only a great location but has very nice and helpful owners, full of advise.

The breakfast was also great. Not only the usual but also specialties like German Pancakes and homemade cakes!

We would recommend this place to anyone!
Thanks, Susan and Edwin for a job well done.
User-Wertungen für diese Unterkunft: 5/5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis: 5/5
Zimmer: 4/5
Lage: 5/5
Sauberkeit: 5/5
Service; 4/5
Schlafqualität: 4/5

Aufenthaltsdatum: November 2010
Anlass des Aufenthalts: Privat
Unterwegs mit: Freunden
Mitglied seit: 13 Februar 2011
Vom Bewerter empfohlen? Ja


Wir würden sehr gerne wiederkommen.
Reviewed 6 October 2011
Man erwartet von seinem Urlaub eine schöne Gegend und je nach Bedarf Erholung und Ruhe. Von seinen Vermietern erwartet man nichts anderes als eine gute Unterkunft.

Ihr beide Susanne und Edwin habt aber vieles mehr getan. Wir wurden herzlich bei euch beiden aufgenommen. Ihr habt uns spätabends, als wir erschöpft von der langen Reise bei euch angekommen sind, schon erwartet. Kaltes Wasser stand im Kühlschrank, die Suite war angenehm kühl und du Edwin hast uns gleich morgens zum Frühstück eingeladen. Vielen Dank!!

Wir hatten unseren Aufenthalt in Susann´S Retreat in der kleinen Suite. Sie war sehr sauber und die Kochecke hatte alles zu bieten und es fehlte an nichts. So konnten wir während unseres Aufenthaltes des Öfteren eigene Mahlzeiten zubereiten.

Das Bett war sehr bequem, und wir erwischten uns dabei, jeden Tag ein bisschen länger zu schlafen:) Frische Handtücher gab es sooft wir wollten, und auch frische Bettwäsche. Susanne fragte uns immer, ob uns etwas fehlte. :) Die Suite war sehr ruhig und ist bestens gelegen, um von dort seine Reiseziele zu erreichen. Dies war uns sehr wichtig.

Vielen Dank für die schönen Wochen bei euch, liebe Susanne, lieber Edwin. Vielen Dank für die lustigen Abende auf euerer Terrasse und bei kühlerem Wetter in eurer gemütlichen Küche. Auch zum Relaxen ist eure Terrasse prima. Vielen Dank Edwin für das Bier, die Getränke, die tollen Reise-und Einkaufstipps. Vielen Dank dir, liebe Susanne, für die Kekse, Erdnüsse, das leckere Eis, den Kuchen, den Kaffee, deine leckeren selbstgemachten Pfannkuchen und vieles, vieles mehr:)

Wen wundert es, wenn wir mit schwerem Herzen Abschied von euch nehmen mussten? Wir wünschen euch alles, alles Gute, bleibt gesund und munter und bleibt so wie ihr seid. Nämlich nette, sympatische, ganz liebe und herzliche Menschen!!

Es grüssen euch Jörg und Sabine
Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Value5/5
Location5/5
Sleep Quality5/5
Rooms5/5
Cleanliness5/5
Service5/5
Was this review helpful? Yes

Ask Sabine P about Susan's Villa

Susan Radic, General Manager at Susan's Villa, responded to this review
8 October 2011

Vielen Dank an Euch Beide für den prima Review. Das ist schon super, wenn die Menschen als Gäste kommen und als Freunde gehen.
Im übrigen haben wir nur getan was wir als Innkeeper zu tun haben und für liebe Menschen setzen wir gerne ein i Tüpfpelchen drauf.
Nochmals vielen Dank und alles Gute für Euch.
Hoffentlich sehen wir uns mal wieder!

Susan and Edwin


m-sachs
1 review
"Sehr empfehlenswert"
Reviewed 23 July 2011
Wir waren eine Woche in Susan's Retreat, dem Selbstversorgungs-Ableger von Susan' Villa. Wir wurden sehr nett mit kalten Getränken und Keksen auf der Terasse empfangen. Unsere deutschsprachigen Gastgeber gaben uns viele hilfreiche Tips für unseren Aufenthalt in Niagara Falls. Die Suite ist klein, sauber und mit einer kleinen Kochnische ausgestattet. Wir hatten auch die Möglichkeit unsere Wäsche zu waschen. Uns fehlte es an nichts und falls es uns mal wieder nach Niagara Falls verschlägt würden wir uns zuerst an Susan und Edwin wenden.
Stayed July 2011
Value5/5
Location5/5
Rooms5/5
Cleanliness5/5
Service5/5
Was this review helpful? Yes
Ask m-sachs about Susan's Villa


web design by international trading company, Welland
Text, layout and images by the owners.